Motorists in California are required under the law to maintain minimum auto insurance coverage. Broadly, these are the types of auto insurance that you must maintain as a motorist in the state.
You must possess bodily injury liability coverage, which will pay for any injury or death caused to any other person in an accident involving your car. Additionally, bodily injury liability coverage will also take kick in if you are involved in a personal injury lawsuit filed by a person injured in an accident involving your car.
Under California law, you must maintain minimum bodily injury liability coverage of $15,000 for one death or injury in an accident, or $30,000 for death or injury of more than one individual in one accident.
You must also maintain minimum property damage liability coverage. Property damage liability coverage will kick in if someone sues you after an accident for property damage. You must maintain a minimum of $5,000 in property damage liability coverage for any one accident.
Meeting the minimum insurance requirement in California is a legal obligation for motorists in the state. If you're caught driving without minimum insurance, then you are in violation of the law, and you could have your license suspended. If you're pulled over by a police officer, and are unable to furnish car insurance documentation, you could be either ticketed or fined for driving without insurance.
It's important to go through the fine print of your insurance policy documents, and make sure that you know exactly what type of insurance coverage must kick in when you are involved in an accident. All too often, motorists are unaware about the kind of insurance that they have signed up for, and may be at risk of having their rights compromised. Speak to an attorney if you do not know what kind of insurance benefits you're eligible for after an accident.